Under laws governing Georgia car insurance rates, it is mandatory for all drivers to carry liability insurance for a minimum of $25,000 to cover bodily injury for each person, to a maximum of $50,000 in one accident, and $25,000 towards property damage in an accident. However, the cost of insurance will also depend on the age of the driver, especially if the individual is a teenager. Teens are inexperienced at driving and have a tendency to drive dangerously, which can have grave consequences.
Georgia Auto Insurance Quotes for Teenage Drivers
Recent statistics have revealed that in the past few years crashes involving teens have claimed more than a 1000 lives in Georgia. In the same period over 85,000 people were killed at the national level in road accidents that involved teens. These figures are quite disturbing and Georgia has come up with tougher GDL laws for licensing teenagers to drive a car, which are detailed in the following table –
|GDL Law requirements||Georgia|
|Learner’s permit||15 years|
|Intermediate license||16 years|
|Full licensure||18 years|
|Mandatory Learner’s Permit Hold||12 months|
|Supervised Practice Driving Requirements||40 hours minimum, including 6 hours compulsorily at night|
|Unsupervised Nighttime Driving Ban||Yes, during intermediate stage, between midnight and 6 a.m.|
|Passenger Restrictions||No passengers allowed during first six months of getting license; One passenger allowed after initial six months; Not more than three passengers during remaining months of intermediary stage|
|Cell Phone Use||Prohibited during learners permit and intermediate stage, except during emergencies|
|Texting||Texting Prohibited for all drivers|
Getting DUI Insurance in Georgia
DUI can raise Georgia car insurance quotes dramatically and the penalties are quite severe as well. Imprisonment can range between ten days to a year, and the fine amount could be $300 to $1000 depending on the frequency of the offense. Additionally, your license can be suspended for a year, and you can face a minimum community service of 40 hours. You also have to spend $210, which is the reinstatement fee for your license.
SR-22 Insurance in Georgia
Filing SR-22 is not required for everybody. A driver will require filing SR-22 in Georgia for reinstating his or her license, after committing offenses like DUI, not having proof of insurance or not purchasing vehicle insurance.
When you do not maintain proper insurance, it can result in revocation or suspension of the registration of your vehicle. If law enforcement detects an uninsured vehicle in Georgia or if such a vehicle is involved in an accident, it will be impounded and the driver is subject to various fines. It is therefore legally impossible to avoid purchasing proper GA car insurance; however, you can find a good provider that offers competitive rates.
Secondly, there are many regulations and laws connected with getting vehicle insurance with all the mandatory coverage, and sometimes this coverage may not be sufficient. But with georgiacarinsurancequotes.net, we can help simplify the process and make sure you get the coverage that best suits your needs.
For your city-related motor vehicle insurance needs, be sure to read our articles on:
- Atlanta Car Insurance
- Augusta Auto Insurance
- Athens Car Insurance
- Columbus Auto Insurance
- Savannah Car Insurance
Georgia State Facts on Wiki
FAQ About Georgia State